Things That Make Me Happy, and Other Thoughts

As someone who is trying to cultivate a positive and happier attitude overall, I have been thinking about what things being me joy, pride, or a sense of accomplishment. So that I continue to do those.

One thing that brings accomplishment and joy is crossing things off to do lists. I like crossing things off the lists. In the past I have tried making lists, and I seem to never keep it up. I will endeavor to keep it up this time. Although making the lists make sometimes feels daunting. Two days ago, I finished everything on my list before 1 pm and I started on yesterday’s list. Yesterday, I lost my list and still got some things done. Some things stay on the list: like preparing my kids’ backpacks for them going to school. I make sure they have what they need every morning. Sometimes, I do something that wasn’t on my list, and I go back and write it down and then cross it off. Two more things I will be talking about should also make my nearly daily lists: both exercise and art should be on the list every day.

When I talk about exercise, I don’t mean anything heavy duty. I’m not a fan of cardio since most times they seem to make me more tired. Some, like dancing, not so much. But when I do mild strength training, I usually feel refreshed, always feel accomplished. And when I keep at it, I feel happier. Bring on those endorphins.

Another thing that has always brought me joy is art and writing. My first two loves. Growing up, there was always someone “better” than me at both. And I let both of them slide away from me. I focused instead on things that were useful and could lead to a career. Time passes and I keep going back to both. I joined an art challenge a few months ago and we did something every day. And I felt amazing. Just like when I do a mild exercise, art every day give me a great endorphin boost.

Something that hasn’t been on my “to-do” list the past couple days, but should be, is my gratefulness journal. I have kept it up for nine days now. Yesterday, I was grateful my children, their love, how they’re growing into amazing young people. Only seven years old and I am absolutely stunned every day by their growth. A few more years and they’ll be as tall me. Though I joke that doesn’t take much since I’m short. And it’s good to see they love me, and not just me, but each other, their father and their classmates and teachers. I love to see their creative side like one of my girls who decided she wants to write, just like mommy.

And today, I am grateful for self-reflection. Writing my gratitude journal, this blog, finding the things that feel good, that’s been a great journey so far. And it’s been only a little over a week. I feel really good. And I want to keep that going. That’s why, after a slow morning, I did some reflection and wrote down, not just what makes me happy or grateful, but why. Seeing that explanation, the why, it’s uplifting in a way I didn’t realize before. I can make a list of things I’m grateful for and say I’m grateful, but delving into the “Why” is important. And I think it makes me more grateful, far more than just saying I am.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment