How the personal affects the professional

We’ve all seen it. That point in your life where suddenly everything is happening at once. And that’s kind of where I am right now.Graduate school is still in full swing, work is going well at 20 hours a week.  I’m married, but we’re having a ceremony so all the family can come down. As if that wasn’t enough, I’ve got the personal/professional goal of finishing several short stories, and starting to edit my completed novel. Somewhere, something has to give. Either that, or I need to invent a time machine, so I can go back and relive several days so that I can complete everything that needs to be done. Oh, and taxes need to be finished too. Sigh.

While I am more confident in my schooling, I still have five more classes to go before I graduate. Since my GA position pays for 2 classes a semester, that makes three more semesters after this one is over. Oh, and my GA expires at the end of the year. Time to start looking for a job in the real world.

I’m told that planning a wedding should be fun. I don’t even have a budget yet. But I do have a date, and  a theme. Medieval. Full regalia. On the plus side, that could actually lower the cost of the wedding dress. But we definitely are looking at this thing from two sides. I’m practical, and cheap. He wants something grand and memorable. I wouldn’t mind grand and memorable, if I won the lottery and could afford it. The average cost of a wedding these days: $27,000! That’s more than twice what I make in a year (minus the tuition waiver). I’m constantly thinking of ways to cut costs, and he’s constantly thinking about ways to make an impression.

Since May of last year, I’ve lost 30 pounds. Not too shabby for someone who never seems to find time for exercise. I do try to walk (and by the way: I did make it to Rivendell last year, just one day before my deadline). After talking with one of my best friends, who looks amazing after losing 50 pounds in far less time, I realized the secret is movement. I’ve sort have always know that. But she rides her bike 3 miles 3 times a week. And has lost 50 pounds since October. Looks like I know something else I’m adding to my to do list.

With that on my plate, I’m not sure how I’m going to find time to write, although I have been writing. Google docs is my best friend. I can write from anywhere there’s a computer and internet access…which means…just about anywhere. I did finish one short story, but haven’t had the time to edit it yet. Or the much bigger project of editing my novel. And that great idea I swear I had, still have it. But I haven’t started it. Sigh. I know that if I want to make it as a writer, I need to make time to write. And I do. Just not nearly as much as I’d like.

Sometimes, when my personal life gets too full, I feel my writing slipping. And when push comes to shove, the writing falls completely by the wayside. I don’t want that. Something has to  give. But does it really? The more I think about everything that’s going on right now, the more I feel like I’m drowning. Maybe things will get better if I don’t think about it. Maybe, if I take a few calming breaths, I’ll realize that things are not nearly as crazy as they seem. And maybe I’ll actually get everything done, while keeping my “me” time, staying sane, keeping up my grades, losing weight, planning a wedding and keeping up with my writing. It’s possible I’m sure. I know some awesome women who have full-time jobs, are going to grad school and have children at home as well. With that in mind, it must be possible to do everything I am trying to do.

2 Comments

Filed under Graduate School, The Writing Life

2 responses to “How the personal affects the professional

  1. At the end of the day, I’ve reached this conclusion: yes… sometimes something has to give. Writing may be your passion, as it is mine, but when life gets hectic, you sometimes have to let some things go in order to do well at the things that matter most. That means, at some level, you have to prioritize. Is writing more important than planning a wedding? Is it more important than doing good in Grad School? Sometimes, the answers to questions like that is “yes, writing is more important than ‘X'”. Sometimes… the answer is no. I hate not writing. But I would loathe myself beyond words to describe if I wasn’t at least trying to be a good father. For me, being a good father ranks higher than writing. Which, right now, means that I don’t get to do any writing, really. And that sucks, and leaves me feeling profoundly sad. But it’s better than the alternative: stealing time to write but being a craptastic husband and father. It’s a devil of a choice to have to make…

    I hope you’ll find time where I cannot, but if you don’t… I guess my moral is try really hard not to beat yourself up about not writing when there genuinely isn’t time.

    • At least I’m not the only one. I also hate not writing. But our wedding is very important, and much of it is diy. I’m designing our invitations, sewing our outfits, and discussing cooking our own food. I’m trying to talk him out of that. 😀

Leave a Reply

