First of March Update: Walking to Rivendell

I honestly didn’t intend this to turn into a fitness blog with updates of my Walking to Rivendell challenge. But on the first of March, I’d like to say how happy I am that (drum-roll please) I met my quota! Woohoo! For the first time I met my quota for averaging 1.4 miles a day. Which means instead of having to average 1.5 miles this month, I can still shoot for 1.4 miles.

My work and school are also both going very well. I’m getting A’s in both my classes, and am thoroughly enjoying my work. I’m currently in charge of a preserving a collection of slides from the 40s and 50s. The database I inherited was in terrible condition, but I’m ironing it out and working on it with enthusiasm.

And for more good news, my fiance and I have decided to buy a house. While this is just one more thing to do, we have both started looking with enthusiasm. We have found a couple of houses that are “possibilities” but almost all the houses down here need at some work, and that is making us a little hesitant.

On the down side, I haven’t been nearly as happy as I could be, and it’s my own fault. I haven’t taken the time, as I should, to be writing for pleasure. In fact, I haven’t written anything since the beginning of February.  And I haven’t found the time to edit my novel either. It seems to me that something has got to give, sooner or later, and I’m looking forward to summer, when work will be slower, which might give me a little more time to do everything I need to and still have time to do the things I want to.

2 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Graduate School, Writing

2 responses to “First of March Update: Walking to Rivendell

  1. Congrats on all the good news, but I’m sorry to hear about the writing.

    I know how it is to go through a busy patch in life and not have much – or any – time for writing. Just perservere, adn eventually you’ll figure out how to find your balance.

    • I went into grad school, and getting the job, knowing full well that it would cut into my writing time. It’s just so much more obvious now that mid-terms are upon me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

