Happy New Year!

I realize that it’s been a while since my last post. Between two families, and all the holiday stuff that goes with it, and finishing my novel, I haven’t had much time to blog. From now on, every December I’ll be taking off. There’s just no way between two Thanksgivings, a birthday (or several), and two Christmases and still do everything I need to do.  I promise, however, to maintain the blog over the course of the rest of the year. Even if that means I’m writing ahead of schedule.

I said I finished my first novel. It currently sits at just under 100K. I haven’t started editing it, yet. And I’m going to take all of January off of that. To celebrate this momentous occasion, I thought I’d share with you the working title, and I’d appreciate any feedback. Lilith’s Children. Although I’m toying with the idea of turning it into a series, and that may become the series title.

I’ll have plenty to keep me busy, since I’m starting grad school, a graduate assistant job, and my fiance and I are looking for a house. Add to that three short story ideas that came to me while I was trying to finish my novel. I’ll definitely have my hands full.

I promised once a month updates for walking to Rivendell. My current location, a la Tolkien, is somewhere between the first night and second night. According to the website, the hobbits walked 18 miles that first day! Erm, well, I’ll admit to only finishing 22 miles (although I started mile 23) in the month of December. This means I did not meet my daily goal of 1.2 miles every day. With that, I now must up the ante to 1.3 miles every day to finish my deadline of November 30.

6 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Just for Fun, Writing

6 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Well congratulations on completing your novel! That’s quite an accomplishment. “Lilith’s Children” is a pretty good title, I think. It’s evocative, and carries a pretty interesting mythic undertone that’s rife with the potential for interesting conflict. I can’t really comment on it’s suitability as an individual book title versus series title though – but that may not be an important distinction. (Note, for instance, the success of “Hunger Games”, the series of which bears the same name as the title of the first book.)

    • Thanks! The title, Lilith’s Children, for quite some time. The title really fits the book I think. And thanks for the input. It could be the title of the first book and the series. However, before I make any decisions regarding the title I really need a break from it. You know I never thought I’d actually want a break from it, but two full months of nothing but my novel has made it necessary. I need a brain flush.

  2. snagglewordz

    Congratulation, what an accomplishment! Good on you for persevering and making it through to completion. I really like ‘Lilith’s Children,’ especially as a series title. Not knowing what the topic of your novel is, it makes me think of demons or vampires or succubi. Happy New Year to you!

  3. deepamwadds

    I guess the old days of solitude, garrets, and some benevolent benefactor are truly done. Now we are lucky for two days in a row without a million other things to attend to, in order to turn our full attention to our projects. This next bit will be tricky for you, I imagine, since the editing phase requires holding the whole story in the air while you make changes. May you have many unencumbered hours ahead!

    • Thanks. I’m somewhat dreading the editing. I’m actually reading a book on self-editing now, to help prepare myself.
      Sometimes I miss those bygone days that I’ve only read about; having a patron to support you while pursuing a writing career might be worth having to write things you might not necessarily write otherwise.

Leave a Reply

