Walking to Rivendell

“But in the meantime what course am I to take?” said Frodo. “Towards danger; but not too rashly, nor too straight,” answered the wizard [Gandalf]. “If you want my advice, make for Rivendell. That journey should not prove too perilous, though the Road is less easy than it was, and it will grow worse as the year fails.”    

“Rivendell!” said Frodo. ”Very good: I will go east, and I will make for Rivendell. I will take Sam to visit the elves; he will be delighted.” He spoke lightly; but his heart was moved suddenly with a desire to see the house of Elrond Halfelven, and breathe the air of that deep valley where many of the Fair  Folk still dwelt in peace. – Fellowship of the Ring

I’m interrupting my regularly scheduled blog to bring you a NaNo Update. Yesterday was the last day of NaNoWriMo, it was my first but I was determined to make it. In fact, I publicly announced it was my plan to reach 75K in November. Well, I didn’t. I did manage 70K, which is amazing. I didn’t post this yesterday due to some unexpected guests, with a belated T-day feast, and an interview. Now back to the blog…

Okay, so I was cruising the NaNo forums, they have special ones up for post-NaNo, and I heard about the Walk to Rivendell and Beyond Challenge (Found here). I think it’s completely amazing. Since one of my ongoing goals (including my writing goals) is to get fit, I thought this might make it a more entertaining endeavor. I won’t be able to recreate the entire trip day for day, I’m thinking that’s pretty close to impossible (according to the website Frodo walked 18 miles his first day!). Well, today is day one. No, I haven’t gotten up yet, but I will.

So now for my goals: If I walk 1 mile a day it would take 458 days to finish. Well…that’s just not acceptable. My goal is walk from Hobbiton to Rivendell in one year. That would average 1.3 miles a day. Definitely doable. As a reward at the end I get a day full of Tolkein movies. 😀

To keep me motivated: I will read the Hobbit, and the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Also, I get to post updates at the end of every month. So as not to clog up the writing blog too much with exercise.

While this is primarily a writing blog, I felt that this is somewhat related. The goal is based on one of the most famous books in publishing history. The movies were also huge. I felt that this was relevant in the fact that it kind of brings home what those characters all had to go through. And I feel that it’s important to get to know characters, and putting yourself in their shoes. It’s also relevant because, let’s face it, if you’re sitting staring at a computer all day, trying to write of course, you’re not getting active. So it’s a literary motivation to get away every now and then.

10 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Movies, The Writing Life

10 responses to “Walking to Rivendell

  1. That’s a cool challenge idea.

    Hey, if you make it to Rivendell in a year, by then there might just be another Tolkien movie waiting for you 🙂 (The Hobbit comes out in December of 2012; needless to say, ME=EXCITED.)

    • Also, the LotR quote as it appears on your actual blog page might need a little html-love/fixification. It’s kind of a dark green on a dark gray background and it’s not really readable.

      • P.P.S. Sorry you didn’t make your personal goal, but really… 70,000 words in 30 days! Woot! That’s terribly impressive, so congratulations.

        How much more, do you wager, you’ll need to finish the story?

      • I’m thinking about 20K, maybe 30. But not much more. There were several scenes I glossed over that need TLC and some that need to be written, but I don’t think that it will take too much more.

    • Haha…that would be great. I could have a LoTR movie marathon. No sleep. 😀

      Oh and I fixed the quote.

  2. Pingback: Monday’s Top 5 (All Award the Blogging Train) | The Happy Logophile

  3. Just swung by here from The Happy Logophile, love the idea. A perfect synthesis of fitness nerdiness.

  4. Pingback: Links You Should Click On: v12.7 » Cities of the Mind

  5. Pingback: Happy New Year! | dwwriter

Leave a Reply

