NaNo Update

Well, I was so excited about my acceptance letter, and rambled about that for far too long, that I forgot to give the update for NaNoWriMo, like I promised I’d do every week.

My word count has passed 45K (and I’m not even done for the day). That has amazed even me. I’m ahead of schedule for not only NaNo’s 50k, but my own goal of 75k. While it’s technically against the rules of NaNo, this word count includes minor editing like backspacing if I know I’ve mistyped something (I do that a lot), grammar, punctuation and spelling. All that, and I’ve still managed to blow past my goal. To be fair I’ve not gone out looking for a job this week, which is why I’ve gone past my goals. In fact, I’ve spent the entire week secluded in a house, making sure a recent surgery patient stays put even though he thinks he’s about to go mad. Hehe. He hates being trapped indoors as much as I do. Still, staying put has helped my word count a good bit, especially since he spends so much time sleeping. I’ve also managed this week to squeeze in a re-reading of Twilight, and watch all 8 Harry Potter movies, host a write-in, make dinner all week, read 4 magazines (taking what writing influence/tidbits I can out of them) and a host of other trivial things. All-in-all, a very productive week.

The write-in this week was quite a disappointment really. I got stuck in traffic, by a train, and it made me five minutes late. So when I arrived, I wondered if people had shown up and left already. It seemed a bit trivial to leave after only five minutes, and I set up shop anyways. I’m going to have one again Saturday, and a short one Wednesday before T-day. Two other people showed up, later than I. Not a complete loss. And we stayed later as we read each others’ works. Giving encouragement and critiques. So not bad really. I’m hoping for more to show up on Saturday, since its the day that most people have off of work.

My general thoughts for NaNo right now, at the end of week 3, are that it truly is a crazy idea. When I go to bed at night either I’ve tried so hard my brain feels like mush, or I’m still so psyched about what I’m writing that I can’t get it out of my head and sleep.  But then again, if I don’t sleep my brain will be mush. I read some of the things I wrote when I was too excited to sleep and…let’s just say that everything is better with sleep.

I have found out that I cannot work without noise. Preferably music, the TV can get a bit distracting if I enjoy the show. I’m also a caffeine addict. There, I’ve admitted it. Now on to the withdrawal, after November is over. I’m really excited about this novel, it won’t be polished at the end of November, but it will be done-ish. I think. It may end up a bit later, like around 80 or 90K. When November is over, I’ll back off a little. But only a little. The novel will be done by the end of the year and no later. Then I can start editing and polishing. Then maybe, just maybe, I’ll have something worth publishing. But that is a post for another day.

 

6 Comments

Filed under The Writing Life, Writing, Writing Challenges

6 responses to “NaNo Update

  1. I’m glad you’re finding time to be so productive! If you can make it, you’ll have done something I haven’t – yet – quite managed, which is to finish a novel. (Although, in all fairness, my last full-on attempt landed me at about 140k-ish words, so even if I hadn’t reached the novel’s end (I was about 2/3rds to 3/4ths of the way through, by my estimation), I had written a novel’s length worth of words.)

    • Thanks, not having a job has it’s benefits for the writing world. And 140K words that’s just WOW. Definitely novel length. Or by my estimation, since it wasn’t done, more like a set of novels. For mine, I can see this one spawning a series, but this particular tale will be done. Btw…I did send your story back right? sometimes I mean to do something, so I think I did it and I just wanted to make sure you had it.

      • Well… I looked through my e-mail, and I didn’t see it… I have an exchange where you asked if I could see the comments in word docs (I can), but then I didn’t get a comment-marked file from you.

        Even though I’ve already sent that particular story out (and gotten a response, which I’ll be posting about soon), I still don’t mind the added feedback.

  2. Wow, good job. I’m only just on word count. I was ahead, but then I haven’t written for a few days. I’ve really got to get back into it and I’m hoping reading about your word count has given me just the kick in the pants to go write. Thanks.

    – Kali

    • Anytime, I’m happy to be an inspiration. I don’t know where the inspiration to write has come from, but it’s been great to be writing. Everything is just flowing.

  3. Pingback: 50k in 19 days | dwwriter

Leave a Reply

