Night of the Giving Dead…

Okay, I did not make that up. It’s a real auction that can be bid on and for just bidding you can enter to win one of TWO Grand Prizes: a Kindle, or a six month writing mentorship with Carrie Harris, a YA author (for your manuscript and if you write like the wind, you might just get a book done). My question: how young does the protagonist have to be in order for your work to be considered YA? I would say that my work is borderline YA, my main character starts at 18. Well, the action starts then anyway. But I’d still prefer the Kindle. We bought one for my fiance’s mother last year. I loved it, but she never uses it. Anywho…I’m totally off topic. You can bid on the auction items here: http://carrieharrisbooks.com/night-of-the-giving-dead-auction-items/. There are also links to find out more about the Grand Prizes.

I dunno if I’m gonna bid, I might bid on one of the query letter or 1st chapter critiques. But there are more ways to enter for those Grand Prizes too. In fact, I’m doing one of them. You can blog, tweet, or FB for 1 entry a piece. You can bid for 2 entries (you don’t have to win). You can buy her book Bad Taste in Boys for 5 entries. And you can give $10 to the Giving Library for 2 entries. Chalk up one entry for me and wish me luck, I’d really like to have that Kindle. Oh, one more thing. When you register for an entry for the Grand Prizes, you get to choose which one you want so you don’t get the Kindle if you wanted the internship, or vice versa. Cool, huh? Now go out there and bid! And good luck to you.

http://carrieharrisbooks.com/night-of-the-giving-dead-grand-prize/

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Night of the Giving Dead…

  1. I don’t think there’s a hard-and-fast rule about what age is necessary for the protagonist to be considered YA, although I do think 17 or 18 is stretching the high side, as I understand it.

    I’ve read before that kids prefer protagonists that are 1 to 2 years older than they are. Which means that any given age of a protagonist (18 and under) has a target audience that lies somewhere within a 3-year range, theoretically.

    What really makes it YA, though, as I understand it, is the writing itself and the themes. Certain themes will resonate more strongly with YA readers (don’t ask me what they are; I don’t really know), and a certain level of writing will be most approachable for them.

    Also, apparently there’s a distinction, these days, between YA and MG (MG is “Middle Grades”, referring to the age of the target audience as being those who are between 5th grade and 7th or 8th grade). I don’t think this was always the case, because Harry Potter, for instances, was always billed as YA – but by the YA/MG divide the early HP books would have been MG rather YA.

    Good luck on the contest. I’m sure the “internship” would be pretty useful either way – yeah you can read e-books on a Kindle, but the internship has the potential to change and improve your career as a writer!

    • True. I thought I might split my entries. One for Kindle (Blogging) and one for the “internship” (FB). Or something like that. Yeah, but you know, HP just resonates, I believe, with alot of people. It’s not just the “magic” (I do have a friend who believes that that makes it an intolerable book), it’s the cosmic fight between good and evil. Although with the younger child, who is kind of an outcast, it could resonate that way too. I also believe that the YA/MG divide is rather new.

Leave a Reply

