Writing for the future.

It’s only been a month, but I’ve grown fond of my blog. Seeing what people think of what I’ve written makes me happy. However, sometimes, life slips by faster than I intended it to, and so all writing falls by the wayside. Hands up if you know what I mean. I want to keep my blog running on the three-day publishing cycle that I’m trying to set up (Monday, Wednesday, Friday). And I want a way to record some ideas for blogs, that are not yet fully formed. 

I am planning a week-long vacation in the not-too-distant future. During this time, I’m not going to have all the time in the world to blog. In fact, due to unavoidable hassles, there will be very little time to write, let alone publish, a blog. Well, as I was pondering my soon-to-be problem, and the one I currently have as well, I realized that you can save an unpublished draft and come back to it. Yippee!

So I started one blog, saved for that week, and while it’s unfinished, I’m liking the content and want to publish it now. I keep holding back, however, because I know that I’m going to need content to publish that week.

But this writing for the future has given me another problem to hurdle. How do I go about my daily business, trying to find a job, keep in touch with family, work on my WIP, write my blog for now, and all the other stuff I do on a daily basis, and still find time to write blogs for future use? Especially considering that I have a little trouble getting all this done without the addition of the last little tidbit.

I have no idea, but I’m attempting it anyway. I’m doing this for several reasons. 1. I want my blog on a routine (whether I am on vacation or not) because I need structure in my life. And 2.When life gets in the way, I have literally no time to write, it would be great to have something to fall back on. Speaking of which, life calls and I’ll have to end this post sooner than I would have liked. But, one must make money if one wants to live.

Does anyone else do this? Write blogs in advance? If so, how do you find the time with everything going on? I know I can’t be the only one out here who seems to stay relentlessly busy.

 

Related articles

17 Comments

Filed under Writing

17 responses to “Writing for the future.

  1. I bravely (read: stupidly) decided to set up a schedule of daily blog posts. Why? Because I’m keen (read: an idiot) . Writing a post for every day of the week, as well as looking after a small child & a baby, a house, husband, writing, and the millions of other things I do, is exhausting. My day typically begins at 4:00am, and I fall into bed somewhere between 10:00pm and 11:00pm. If it’s been a busy day, it’s midnight or later that I get to bed. And that’s 7 days a week.

    I never know exactly what each day will bring, so blogging on a daily basis is impossible. To this end, I forward schedule *every* post I write. I am never writing for today, I’m writing for tomorrow or later. Sometimes I’m literally sitting at the computer at midnight blogging for the following morning’s post. Sometimes I have 7 or 10 posts done in advance, and I take a “holiday” from blogging. In either case, this takes planning.

    My tips:
    (1) Never blog on the day you want to post. That way lies madness, unexpected interruptions, and blogger-guilt.
    (2) If you have 15 minutes spare, sit down and write. Once you’ve achieved your daily target for writing (whatever it is), go on to blogging. Write at least one post, and then go back to your writing.
    (3) If you’ve got an hour free before bed, just sit and write posts, and schedule them for the future. Write as many in one sitting as you can. Like everything else in life, once you’re in the “zone”, it’s easier to keep going.

    • Wow. You are one busy person. With only 5 to 6 hours of sleep on a good day, and the amount of stuff you do, I’m surprised your sane. 🙂
      I’ve stayed up writing before, but it’s usually because I’m having trouble sleeping. I had thought of blogging. Blogging for the future is definitely a good idea when life has a tendency to get in the way (and when doesn’t it?). Sometimes I think I’m busier looking for a job than I would be if I just had a job. There was one night, last week, I think it was Wednesday, I locked myself in my room about 10 pm so I could get my blog done and posted before 12. And I cut off yesterdays because I had to meet a client (I do some freelance editing) which kept me busy for the next 5 hours. That’s definitely the road to madness as you mentioned.
      You gave some great tips. Free time always needs to be writing or blogging time. Hmm…sounds like I need to start on Monday’s blog.

  2. Pingback: Why Blog? « Adventures in Full Time Writing

  3. I used to be more diligent about keeping my blogs ready for future posts. I, too, want a regular, dependable schedule. But that’s been impossible to achieve of late.

    In actuality, though, I’ve got about six or seven unpublished posts in the hopper. Most of them are for a new weekly feature I plan (and have been planning) to run on my blog. The problem is… it’s taken me months to come up with about 6 weeks worth of the weekly feature… and I realize if I let it go those six weeks will pass by all too quickly, and then where will I be, if I haven’t written any more. So I’m trying to complete more than half of the weekly posts before I set them up to start posting.

    When I first started blogging, somehow, this was easier. Ihad a post almost every day, 7 days a week, without fail for the first six months of my blog’s life. And then… well… real life got in the way, of course…

    • Don’t I know about real life. lol. My biggest reason for wanting a regular dependable schedule is that since I’m currently jobless I have a hard time keepin track of days. Having a schedule helps me to not lose time. If everyday is just like every other day, then time slips by faster than I can count and since I spend the majority of my time looking for a job, I have a hard time remembering exactly what I did on what day. This way I have a guaranteed way of remembering well I know that I did this on this day, so that means that I had to have done such-and-such. You know what I mean?

      • Yeah, I think I do… being jobless is definitely no fun… and life just kind of disappears down the toilette when you’re looking fruitlessly for a job…

  4. Stephen: you just thoroughly depressed me, haha.

    I am also jobless, though I stick to writing only one blog post a week about a day or so before I post them–mainly because they tend to be long and I feel the need to think stuff over for a while before I put my final version out there. (Even then, I’m always catching mistakes; sometimes you don’t “see” certain things until after you’ve pressed that Publish button, lol.)

    Although, I can’t really say I’m all that…busy. I’m single and still living with the parents until I can pay off the rest of my student loans and am in a position to support myself; I’m also a recent college grad that can’t seem to find a job, haha, so right now those plans are going NOWHERE fast. Anyway, I limit myself to one post a week because it’s ridiculous how much time blogging can suck up, if you’re not careful. And when you’re supposed to be looking for jobs and finishing a novel…well, blogging can become just another distraction.

    Besides, I’m already much too easily distracted.

    • Heh, sorry about that Tiyana, not my intention at all. Just commisserating because, you know, I’ve been there. And it pretty much blew massive chunks of suck. I eventually found a job each it’s happend (including and especially that first and longest time, right out of college), which helped to pull me out of a spiral that was pointing toward depression.

      • Wow…”blew massive chunks of suck.” I think that comment lies somewhere between poetry and uber gross, but none-the-less very accurate. How long did it take you to find a job? I remember you had to move to a larger city to find one, and I may have to as well.

      • Well, immediately after graduating with my undergrad I was unemployed for 5 months. In the grand scheme of things that’s not terribly long. But when you’re fresh out of college and you have no savings (because, hey, you were in college for the last 4-ish years, not working and building a savings), and when you live on your own, that’s a long time to go without a positive cash flow. If not for the help and generosity of other people, I suspect I would’ve ended up in much more dire circumstances than I did. As it was, those 5 months without work had negative consequences that follow me even today, many many years later.

        I moved to a bigger city, in fact, for personal reasons – I had a job in small-town-ville and it was stable, and a good one. But I was ready for a change. More particularly, my personal life was going nowhere in small-town-ville, and I wasn’t getting any younger and more virile, so-to-speak. In other words, I wanted to start a family. Stupidly, however, I made the move without thinking about career opti0ns first – in other words, I hadn’t applied for any jobs or researched jobs before packing my bags and driving away. So I spent another 3 or 4 months unemployed. Since then, I haven’t been without a job for longer than a month, which is good.

      • So I suppose you could say that we are in opposite positions. My personal life is fine, but my professional life is down the toilet. Although, the job you did have in small-town-ville wasn’t exactly going places. I can’t wait for the fiance to finish his friggin dissertation, then maybe we can move, finally. That’s really what’s holding us down here right now. I suppose we could technically move south, closer to the bigger University where he’s studying, but I really don’t want to live there. I want to move West. Colorodo sounds nice, but it won’t help if I can’t get job there either.

  5. knot2share

    I too try to follow the Mon/Wed/Frid schedule for my posts when I can. It is good to be regular with our posts. If I were in your position and going away on vacation for a few weeks, my aim would be to have one post per week that I am away, ready in advance. Once that is achieved, you will somehow find time to write another one more maybe or two….In that case you can schedule two posts for the first week or the first couple of weeks..My point is, when you have achieved the minimum, any additional post will become a bonus which might motivate you to write more. If not, nothing is lost because you already have one post a week scheduled, while you are trying to complete other things. What I have noticed with myself is that in spite of me being very busy sometimes, I manage to find time to write atleast one post. In fact lots of inspiration comes when I am running around crazily! 🙂

    • You know, that’s a great idea. I’ve already started on the blogs that I’ll be posting that week. And since they can be pre-scheduled (which I’ve only just come to realize) I can have them written, and set the publishing date for when I’ll be away. Then no one wil know…mwuahahaha.

  6. Pingback: Time Saving Steps for your WIP | Adventures in Full Time Writing

  7. Pingback: Blogging, It’s Time to Post Again #amwriting #amblogging « A Writer's Blog © Lara Dunning

  8. Pingback: Why Blog? | Kim Koning

  9. Pingback: Time Saving Steps for your WIP | Kim Koning

Leave a Reply

